As the governmental body, Town Council is responsible for adopting all ordinances, resolutions and setting policies.  Council approves the annual operating budget and sets the Town’s tax rates and fees along with making land use and zoning decisions.  Appointments and recommendations to Town’s Commissions and Committees are made by Council.

Council meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m., unless otherwise scheduled, in the Council Chamber of the Gretna Town Hall, located at 107 S. Shelton Street, Gretna.  The public is welcome and encouraged to attend all meetings.

Public hearings are held to give citizens the opportunity to voice their comments and concerns about actions taken by Town Council.  Public notices of hearings are posted in the Star Tribune. 

Town Council Members

R. Keith Motley, Mayor                          
114 School Street
P.O. Box 472 
Gretna, VA 24557
434-656-1206 - Work

Term Expires:  12/31/26

Barbara Hubbard
212 Huffmond Street
Gretna, VA  24557
Term Expires:  12/31/24

Michael Bond, Council Member             
601 S. Main Street
P.O. Box 558
Gretna, VA 24557
Term Expires:  12/31/26

James Gilbert, Council Member             
210 Northside Drive
P.O. Box 781
Gretna, VA 24557
Term Expires:  12/31/24

Mike Burnette, Council Member            
507 N. Main Street
P.O. Box 1227
Gretna, VA 24557

Term Expires:  12/31/26

Dianne Jennings, Vice-Mayor       
126 Northside Drive
P.O. Box 762 
Gretna, VA 24557
Term Expires:  12/31/24

Deborah P. Moran, Council Member     
610 S. Main Street
P.O. Box 630
Gretna, VA 24557
Term Expires:  12/31/26


Remote Access - Council Email:  Outlook Web Access


Council Committees

To facilitate business, the Council is sub-divided into Committees.  The Chair of each Committee is listed below:

  • Beautification – Deborah Moran
  • Cemetery – Michael Bond
  • Finance – Dianne Jennings
  • Fire & Police – Dianne Jennings
  • Industrial Planning – James Gilbert
  • Insurance – James Gilbert
  • Office/Grounds – Mike Burnette
  • Parks/Recreation – Mike Burnette
  • Personnel – Dianne Jennings
  • Streets – Mike Burnette
  • Vehicle & Equipment – Jim Hunt
  • Water & Sewer – Michael Bond
  • Zoning & Planning – Michael Bond

Non-Council Committees

  • Planning Commission – Steve Scruggs
  • Board of Zoning Appeals – Chapman Brown III